Ok - so I getting close to putting the bottom on my boat. Got it rough cut last night and am hoping to get it screwed and glued in the next couple days.
So the 3M adhesive... after the frames and chine are coated with the adhesive and the bottom goes on and gets screwed down, can you just wipe the excess amount away from joints if it oozes out? Do I need to use a rag with spirits or anything like that? I have never used this goop before, and am looking for the "just make sure you don't" tips! haha

Thanks fellas.
-jk-

Views: 861

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Jason,

You've gotta use some kind of solvent to remove excess, that stuff is really nasty. Seems like I remember spending a lot of time underneath the boat cleaning it all off where it oozed out between the ribs and bottom.

Mike
I thought so... just use some thinner?
Thinner might work, I hate to say this but I think I used white gas.

Mike
not to sound dumb - but what is white gas? is that just like reg. gasoline?
Mineral spirits and tons of paper towels will clean 5200 that has not cured.

But REMEMBER those towels are flammable. Don't use a rag and pile then in a corner. A number of boat garages have been burnt to the ground from the self combustible cotton rags of paint thinner. We use a dry paper towel until most of the goop has been removed, then use a little 100% mineral spirits (refined pain thinner) to clean up the little bit that is left.

If you miss a few spots and the 5200 drys you can knife it away from the wood and sand; however, just like the gel magic, it is a lot faster to do the clean up job as you build and the glue is soft rather than try to clean up after the glue is dry.
Thanks for the info.
Now I just need to get out of work so I can go get started!
Its 60 degrees here today, and I am itching to get building.

-jk-