Lately I've been hearing quite a bit about on stream repairs of wooden boats. I always thought this was a bit odd. I've been running a 17x52 framed boat for over fifteen years and have never had to do an on stream repair. I've hit lots-o-rocks. It's usually goes something like.. "oh, look at that Osprey--WHAM". Most rivers in Oregon require you to pay attention. But in all my rock smashes I've never had to repair a boat on the river.

Let me know your experience. Is this a new thing because of less chine protection on some boats, or am I just a wimp on the river.

Views: 234

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Randy,
We rarely have to do any Stream repairs. It is alway a good Idea to carry Duct Tape incase you have a leak. Gets you by until you can fix it with Epoxy. Chines need to be beefie for strength and for tracking.
Ken Helfrich
eight years drifting and I've never had an on the stream repair. Knock on WOOD. Now if you had brought up on the road boat trailer repair and mishaps....well, that rings a big bell.
I agree, from personal experience, with Ken Helfrich's recommendation about duct tape. About 20 years ago (or more) I had a major fracture near the chine on the Three Forks - Rome section of the Owyhee. I think Ken was on the trip. Anyway, we turned my boat over and roasted the damaged area with a fire, then did the same to the outside. This allowed the plywood to dry enough to bond with the tape, which was applied in overlapping layers, and changed nightly. Oh, about never having to do an emergency repair - that works if you never run the super tough waters, If you do, you know that someone on your trip will have his number come up every decade or so. That stretch of the Owyhee, the Illinois, and the Middle Fork all all such that there is an emergency wooden boat repair outfit along.
To all,

Best to be prepared.